Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.



The Center @ Miami Dade College will award one prize annually for the publication of a previously unpublished book of poetry originally written in Spanish by an American resident.  The prize will recognize book-length manuscripts of poetry written in Spanish. Translations, works of literary criticism and scholarly texts do not qualify.

The winner will be selected by an esteemed Spanish-speaking poet.  The chosen book will be translated into English by an experienced translator, and will be published in a bilingual edition.
The Spanish Prize will be administered through The National Poetry Series.  

For Paz Prize for Poetry Guidelines can be found on The Paz Prize Guidelines page.

In furthering the original mission of The National Poetry Series - to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry - NPS is pleased to announce the establishment of THE ROBERT FAGLES TRANSLATION PRIZE
This award will be given annually to a translator who has shown exceptional skill in translating a book of contemporary poetry into English. Nominations will be received in conjunction with the PEN Translation Fund/The Center for Literary Translation at Columbia University and from a select group of advisors. Each year The National Poetry Series will choose a distinguished translator to serve as the final judge for this prize. The winner, who will be announced in May, will have until the following January to complete work on his or her translation. Publication will be the following September. The winning translator will receive a $2,000 cash prize and book publication. The translated poet will receive a $500 honorarium. 
Information For Selected Nominators
Robert Fagles was a distinguished translator of Greek classics, and was awarded the National Humanities Medal by the President of the United States. Sadly, he passed away in early 2008, but always will be celebrated for his popular translations of Homer's "The Iliad" and "The Odyssey," Sophocles' "The Three Theban Plays" and Aeschylus' "The Oresteia," which have sold more than 2 million copies. One of his last works, a translation of Virgil's "The Aeneid," took nearly a decade to complete and was published in 2007. Mr. Fagles received numerous awards, including the PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation and the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award of the Academy of American Poets. 

Robert Fagles Translation Prize Publications
2010 Prize
Eléna Rivera, The Rest of the Voyage
Translation of French poet Bernard Noёl, Selected by Susan Stewart, to be published by Graywolf Press in November 2011
2009 Prize
Lawrence Venuti, Edward Hopper
Translation of Ernest Farrés, Selected by Richard Howard