Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.


The National Poetry Series is made possible by the generous support of our sponsors. 
National Poetry Series Sponsors
Lannan Foundation
Stephen Graham
Joyce & Seward Johnson Foundation
Glenn & Renee Schaeffer
Juliet Lea Hillman Simonds
Edward T. Cone Foundation