Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.


Judges for the 2009 Open Competition
Paul Guest for HarperCollins
Eileen Myles for Coffee House Press
Natasha Trethewey for Penguin
Prageeta Sharma for Fence Books
David Wojahn for University of Georgia Press