Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.

Winners of the 2015 Open Competition

The National Poetry Series is pleased to announce the results of the 2015 Open Competition.  The winning books are scheduled for publication in 2016.

Not on the Last Day, But on the Very Last
by Justin Boening of Iowa City, IA
Chosen by Wayne Miller, to be published by Milkweed Editions

The Wug Test
by Jennifer Kronovet of New York, NY
Chosen by Eliza Griswold, to be published by Ecco

by Melissa Range of Appleton, WI
Chosen by Tracy K. Smith, to be published by Beacon Press

by Danniel Schoonebeek of Brooklyn, NY
Chosen by Kevin Prufer, to be published by University of Georgia Press

The Sobbing School 
by Joshua Bennett of Yonkers, NY
Chosen by Eugene Gloria, to be published by Penguin

The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 to ensure the publication of poetry books annually through participating publishers.  More than 185 books have been awarded since the Series’ inception.

Congratulations to the 2015 winners!