Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.

2015 Open Competition Deadline Extension

Due to winter weather disruptions, the deadline for the 2015 National Poetry Series Open Competition has been EXTENDED to include all submissions with a postmark through February 23, 2015.