Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.

National Poetry Series in the News

Beginning in 2014, the five winners of the National Poetry Series Open Competition will each receive a $10,000 prize, along with the publication of their selected book. This increase has been made possible by a generous grant from the Lannan Foundation.

Read more about this exciting announcement below:  

The Poetry Foundation:
It’s BAAAACKK! National Poetry Series Is Still Writing the Book!

New York Times
Back From the Brink, Poetry Group Makes Cash Prizes Bigger Thanks to a Grant

Publishers Weekly:
National Poetry Series Ups Cash Prize