Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.

Announcing the Winners of The National Poetry Series 2014 Open Competition

The National Poetry Series is pleased to announce the results of the 2014 Open Competition.  The winning books are scheduled for publication in the summer of 2015.

Monograph by Simeon Berry of Somerville, MA, chosen by Denise Duhamel, to be published by University of Georgia Press

The Regret Histories by Joshua Poteat of Richmond, VA, chosen by Campbell McGrath, to be published by HarperCollins

Let's Let That Are Not Yet: Inferno by Ed Pavlić of Athens, GA, chosen by John Keene, to be published by Fence Books

Double Jinx by Nancy Reddy of Madison, WI, chosen by Alex Lemon, to be published by Milkweed Editions

Viability by Sarah Vap of Venice, CA, chosen by Mary Jo Bang, to be published by Penguin Books