Established in 1978 to recognize and promote excellence in contemporary poetry by ensuring the publication of five books of poetry a year through a series of participating publishers. Five distinguished poets will each select one winning manuscript for publication from entries to the Open Competition. Each winner will receive $10,000.

2012 Paz Prize for Poetry Winner Announced

The National Poetry Series is pleased to announce the winner of 2012 Paz Prize for Poetry:  2001-2011 Colaterales by Dinapiera Di Donato of New York City.

2012 Paz Prize Shortlist:

Entre Borrozas Guardarayas by Samiri Hernandez Hiraldo
Rumor de Hemisferio by Urayoán Noel
Brecha de Agua by Elsa J. Varela
Lengua Bifida by Lila Zemborain

The Paz Prize for Poetry is presented by The National Poetry Series and The Center @ Miami Dade College. This annual award—named in the spirit of the late Nobel Prize-winning poet, Octavio Paz—honors a previously unpublished book of poetry written originally in Spanish by an American resident. An open competition is held each May, when an esteemed Spanish-speaking poet selects a winning manuscript. The book will be published in a bilingual edition by Akashic Press. The winning poet will also receive a $500 cash prize.